My Current Reading List + What to Read Next

I used to have a real problem with bookstores. In particular, how much time and money I spend in them.

Now, however, as I become increasingly minimalist, I use them mostly for the grand purpose of getting inspiration for new to-be-reads (TBR). Then I mostly get those books from the library, or online (only if I know I’m going to re-read them often). More on my new reading minimalism in my post, 3 Book-Related Things I Stopped Doing After Graduating to Save Time and Money.

The other day, just an hour in the bookstore had me immediately formulating a new reading list, never mind that I already have a pretty long one.

Without further ado, here is my updated, current reading wish list:

– Washington Black, Esi Edugyan

Finalist for the 2018 man booker prize (which went to Anna Burns’ The Milkman), Washington Black is a Bildungsroman chronicling the protagonist’s escape from slavery and his subsequent life.

Why I want to read it: The same reason I want to read 80% of the books I’ve read: I read the first few pages and like the author’s writing style. Edugyan’s prose is melodic, yet rough cut, with the bittersweet edge of old-school African American literature that I like so much.

– American Psycho, Bret Easton Ellis

American Psycho is a classic about the madness and murder Wall Street millionaire Patrick Bateman sinks into.

Why I want to read it: American Psycho is the first and only Broadway musical I’ve ever seen in Broadway itself and before and since, it remains my most spectacular theatre experience. I chose to go for the show last minute, only discovering it originated from a novel some months later when discussing theatre experiences with one of my professors. Its storyline (from the musical) is extraordinarily fascinating as it takes a “Wall Street kill” in a horrific, literal sense.

The Dharma Bums, Jack Kerouac

The Dharma Bums follows two American writers’ travels as they search for truth and meaning.

Why I want to read it: Kerouac is my all-time favourite writer, and after years of obsessing over On the Road after discovering it in a dingy second-hand bookshop in the suburbs of Chicago, I’ve finally started to ease off that one novel and take interest in his other works. I read the first few pages of The Dharma Bums in that bookstore, and already got nearly drunk on Kerouac’s characteristic dreamy, rolling prose.

In fact, standing there at the Kerouac corner of the bookstore, I made the decision that I am going to purchase and own every single thing Kerouac has ever written. But more on that later. The Dharma Bums first.

What I’m Currently Reading

As usual, I’m always reading something.

This time, I’m making my way through 2 satisfyingly high-quality non-fiction books that are, to more-than justly use the cliché, eye-opening.

This is What Inequality Looks Like, Teo You Yenn

Some time back, I posted that I was reading this, and still am.

This series of highly-detailed research papers by Teo can get rather technical and makes for some slow reading. Nevertheless, it’s for a good cause. Teo meticulously cracks open the Singapore system to figure out exactly what defines inequality in Singapore and why the system perpetuates the problems for those at the bottom.

Watch out for my post on it, as this is a book I can’t wait to critique and converse with.

– The 4-Hour Workweek, Tim Ferriss

This book has been a dream of mine for months, ever since I really got into Tim Ferriss’ podcast and newsletter.

The 4-Hour Workweek is about the New Rich and a revised definition of wealth. Reading this has nicely coincided with my new desire to find ways to maximise my income per hour, instead of going by the old system of dollars-per-hour. Another platform which also really talks about this is Money Lab and Listen Money Matters, especially this podcast.

I hope that this list has inspired you somehow. I’m really interested to know what’s on your reading list and if you have any more recommendations for me. Do let me know in the comments below!

As always, happy reading!


3 thoughts on “My Current Reading List + What to Read Next

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.